1st Trimester down

I haven’t written a lot about my job, but today was the last day of the 1st trimester, so I though I might fill you in a bit. There isn’t very much that is exciting to share, mostly funny things that students say. However, out of context the comments aren’t really all that funny. The term has been difficult and fun at the same time. My students are sweet and really do try hard, even when they have no idea what I’m saying. But they are still more worried about their exam marks (grades) than they are about learning, or so it seems to me. And this makes sense, since they sit for exams for nearly two weeks.

It has been an interesting end to the term, unlike anything I’ve ever experienced before. Students take exams and teacher’s “invigilate” them. A little over two weeks ago the grade 12 girls took their first exams and finished them today, ten exams in total I think. Grade 12 has exams from 8:30am-10am and grades 10 & 11 from 8:30am to 9:15am. So if you are the teacher “invigilating” (also known as supervising or as we say back home, proctoring) you stay in the room until all the students are finished or until time is up. Then for the remainder of the day you try to keep yourself busy at school. We worked on plans for the second trimester, marked finished exams and even had a party at a coworker’s farm.

Coworker's farm. The striped building is the majlis where we had the party.

Coworker’s farm. The striped building is the majlis where we had the party.

Tower on the farm, room with A/C on the bottom; natural air conditioning on top.

Tower on the farm, room with A/C on the bottom; natural air conditioning on top.

View of the astroturf and the farm house (white building).

View of the Astroturf and the farm-house (white building).

Our lunch, served Arab style, on the floor of the majlis.

Our lunch, served Arab style, on the floor of the majlis.

Chicken biryani. Yum!!!

Chicken biryani. Yum!!!

Now I’m preparing for an amazing vacation in Europe. I’m hoping for good “winter” weather and looking forward to having some great adventures. I’ll be headed to Italy and Germany to visit friends and going on some side trips with them. I hope to update this blog while I’m traveling, but in case I don’t, Happy Holidays to all of you who celebrate at this time of the year.

About Andrea

I am teacher and traveler blogging my experiences living as an expat from the USA. From 2007-2012 I lived and worked in Oregon, USA. From 2012 (when I started blogging) to 2014, I lived and worked in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. In August 2014 I begin living and working in Santa Ana, Costa Rica.
This entry was posted in Al Ain, Expat Life, Food, Gluten Free, Uncategorized, Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 1st Trimester down

  1. Thelma Kalms says:

    Hi Andrea,
    We have just come back from A/L–SO WONDERFUL!!!!!! you will love it, I am sure! have a wonderful trip.
    With Joy,Thelma

Leave a Reply

