A Student In Need

Generally speaking, I try to keep this blog about me and my life. But sometimes little things  touch my heart and I need to share them with you.

Today one of the amazing UWC Costa Rica students, whom I know through swimming class, is trying desperately to get home to Botswana for his best friend’s memorial service. As you may recall from a previous post, most of the students here are on scholarship and going home at any time is a luxury. So you can imagine that this is a very difficult time for him.

As an expat, I am often worried about a situation like this happening to me. Could I afford to go home? How do I get there in time for the services? What will it be like to go and then have to return quickly? All these questions are difficult and I hope I never have to actually answer any. I can’t imagine how this young man is feeling being here in Costa Rica and grieving for his friend back home in Botswana.

If you’re interested in helping this young man get home and have some time to grieve, please follow the link: http://www.gofundme.com/hidcms.

About Andrea

I am teacher and traveler blogging my experiences living as an expat from the USA. From 2007-2012 I lived and worked in Oregon, USA. From 2012 (when I started blogging) to 2014, I lived and worked in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. In August 2014 I begin living and working in Santa Ana, Costa Rica.
This entry was posted in Expat Life, Work and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

