Final Days

Just under two years ago, I stepped out of the Abu Dhabi International Airport into the hottest most humid weather I had ever experienced, and it was 1am. In a few days I’ll be headed to the Dubai International Airport and ending my time here in the United Arab Emirates and the weather doesn’t seem nearly as bad as I remembered.

I am living in a hotel in Al Ain (as I sold everything and moved out of my flat last Sunday) and doing my best to enjoy my last days here. It is currently the holy month of Ramadan which means shortened work hours and no eating or drinking in public. Which, mirrors my exact situation when I first came here. I think it is very fitting that I will be leaving the same conditions to which I arrived, makes it feel like things have gone full circle.

I have been spending quality time with my friends here. Including this past weekend when I met up with my friend Krista (who will be teaching in China next year) and another woman in Abu Dhabi to enjoy the Afternoon High Tea at the Emirates Palace hotel. The tea was a great experience, lovely atmosphere and delicious food. And in true Emirates Palace fashion, most of the items served for tea were dusted in 24K gold leaf!IMG_0465 IMG_0462

Packing up two year’s worth of stuff (and selling/giving away the rest) was not very fun. I had way more stuff than I thought! I am excited to go home, but I am happy that I have these amazing memories, wonderful friends, lots of photographs and a few little things to remember my time here. Now, onto the next adventure!

About Andrea

I am teacher and traveler blogging my experiences living as an expat from the USA. From 2007-2012 I lived and worked in Oregon, USA. From 2012 (when I started blogging) to 2014, I lived and worked in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. In August 2014 I begin living and working in Santa Ana, Costa Rica.
This entry was posted in Abu Dhabi, Al Ain, Bucket List, Expat Life, Food, UAE and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Final Days

  1. Wow, I bet the two years went by so fast! I’m finishing up my first year, and it has flown!

  2. Shelley says:

    I hope you’ll continue your blog next year in Costa Rica. Although I haven’t commented much, I have followed your adventure with much interest.

Leave a Reply

