Spring has sprung

It is officially spring, today is the two year anniversary of my blog and I am in the final trimester of my final year teaching in the UAE. I am looking forward to what may come in the next few months, but now is a time for reminiscing. Reminiscing about the two fabulous weeks I spent in Europe! Again, I returned to Germany to see my long-time friends Liz and Aaron and to see my new friends I’ve made on my last couple of visits. But this trip included two side trips, Spain and Austria!

Week one started out with a perfect opportunity to wear the dirndl I bought on my last trip, Starkbierfest (click for more information). Starkbier is a strong beer that is brewed during Lent and is celebrated with drinking, dancing and signing in the beer hall. So we put on our dirndls, recruited some friends and headed off to the beer hall.

Dancing on the benches!

Dancing on the benches! (Liz, Erin and me)

Had to borrow some steins for this picture (no starkbier drinkers here)!

Had to borrow some steins for this picture (no starkbier drinkers here)! (Liz, Eva and me)

It was so much fun! Dancing on the benches, signing classic American party songs (think YMCA and other such tunes) and being entertained by the people who had drank a bit too much starkbier.

The next day we were on our way to Spain. When I was in Germany last December I attended a phenomenal dinner party at the Yoder’s (friends of Aaron and Liz) and was invited to join a girls trip to Spain during the spring. Lucky for me, the trip they had planned fit into the time frame of my spring break. Heather was an amazing host at her home in Salobrena, Spain (she also has a blog Heather Yoder Writes). Not only was the home gorgeous and the host gracious the views were spectacular.

Salobrena, Spain

Salobrena, Spain

The beach in Salobrena.

The beach in Salobrena.

Love the Spanish bars!

Love the Spanish bars!

Tortialla, croquettas and wine, some of my favorite things!

Tortialla, croquettas and wine, some of my favorite things!

Granada

Granada

Touring the Alhambra.

Touring the Alhambra. (Liz, me and Julia)

Great views at the Alhambra.

Great views at the Alhambra.

We had a lot of fun relaxing around the pool, in the hot tub and touring Granada. We also had a visit to the Alhambra which is in Granada. It was a relaxing, fun and delicious five days in Spain. Oh how I love Spanish cuisine!!

And that was just the first week!

 

About Andrea

I am teacher and traveler blogging my experiences living as an expat from the USA. From 2007-2012 I lived and worked in Oregon, USA. From 2012 (when I started blogging) to 2014, I lived and worked in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. In August 2014 I begin living and working in Santa Ana, Costa Rica.
This entry was posted in Bucket List, Expat Life, Food, Friends, Travel, Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring has sprung

  1. heatheryoder says:

    To be clear, you are the best guest and hosting you first in Munich and then in Spain, well, that is an awesome way to forge a friendship. I feel like we need somewhere extra spectacular next round….

  2. Mom says:

    What a fun time. And love your pink vest!!!

Leave a Reply

