Al Ain at Night

Every year the UAE gets decked out to celebrate their National Day (like Fourth of July in the US) and the decorations are very festive. I wanted to take pictures, but I am not too comfortable with night photography yet, or being alone at night in the city, so I never got around to it. But these lovely folks did, fellow teachers and neighbors, they have posted some great pictures of what Al Ain looks like for National Day and the lit road on Jebel Hafeet.

hayya bina

Last week the Emirates celebrated their 42nd National Day! Like last year the whole country went all out – decorations, fireworks, and the biggest UAE flags you’ve ever seen! The best part is all the people that go crazy decorating their car with national day things. The Rands posted a bit about National Day here and it has some great pictures of those cars. My favorite part about this time of year is that in Al Ain they decorate all the round-abouts with huge light displays and town center is all lit up. One evening Scott and I went around our town of Al Ain to try and capture these light displays for you . . .

DSCN0027DSCN0105DSCN0109DSCN0095There is a restaurant in town center called Leisure that Scott and I went to with our friend Jennifer. They have very good Arabic food and the atmosphere is the best! It’s all…

View original post 123 more words

About Andrea

I am teacher and traveler blogging my experiences living as an expat from the USA. From 2007-2012 I lived and worked in Oregon, USA. From 2012 (when I started blogging) to 2014, I lived and worked in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. In August 2014 I begin living and working in Santa Ana, Costa Rica.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

