Touring Bavaria

Since our wonderful Christmas I have been seeing some of the sights in and around Munich. The weather has been good, cold but clear (no rain) and one very lucky day of snow.

On 26 December I met up with my friend Krista (she is an ADEC teacher in Abu Dhabi) at the Munich train station and we headed off to visit Germany’s most famous castle (for tourists). The castle at Disneyland (and on most Disney things) is based off of this castle, Neuschwanstein. It was very foggy and cold when we stepped off the bus and headed toward the castle, but within a few minutes it was snowing, so we were happy! We hiked all around the castle, but didn’t go inside (we didn’t want to wait in the very long line for tickets). We even crossed a barrier and walked to the “best view point” called Mary’s Bridge, which was a bit dangerous but worth it. (Sorry for the snow on the lens!)

First views of the castle.

First views of the castle.

The treacherous (on ice) walk to Mary's Bridge.

The treacherous (on ice) walk to Mary’s Bridge.

View from Mary's Bridge.

View from Mary’s Bridge.

Leaving town in the afternoon, enjoying all the snow that fell. For some reason, this building reminds me of the Gingerbread Village on the way Florence.

Leaving town in the afternoon, enjoying all the snow that fell. For some reason, this building reminds me of the Gingerbread Village on the way Florence.

The following day, my hosts (Aaron and Liz) and I bundled up and headed for Germany’s longest sled run at Wallberg Mountain. Unfortunately, the run was closed when we got there!  Not to be dismayed, we opted for plan B, which was wonderful. We stopped in Tegernsee for a nice roast pork and raclette lunch with delicious gluwein and a walk around the lake.

Me and Liz at Tegernsee.

Me and Liz at Tegernsee.

Yesterday, Liz and I set off for Regensburg, a cute little town about an hour by train from Munich. Regensberg is an UNESCO World Heritage City. We walked around, saw the sights and even enjoyed some tea and dessert at Germany’s oldest bakery.

Regensburg

Regensburg

The cutest shutter holder I have ever seen.

The cutest shutter holder I have ever seen.

Cute table setting at lunch at Wurstkuchl.

Cute table setting at lunch at Wurstkuchl.

David and Goliath

David and Goliath

Germany's oldest bakery

Germany’s oldest bakery

Today, Liz and I visited two of Munich’s modern art museums. The draw was two-fold, an Andy Warhol exhibit and entry for only 1 Euro! The Andy Warhol exhibit was really good, it was mostly focused on the books that he produced or was a contributor. Now we are making plans for tomorrow!

About Andrea

I am teacher and traveler blogging my experiences living as an expat from the USA. From 2007-2012 I lived and worked in Oregon, USA. From 2012 (when I started blogging) to 2014, I lived and worked in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. In August 2014 I begin living and working in Santa Ana, Costa Rica.
This entry was posted in Expat Life, Friends, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Touring Bavaria

  1. mom says:

    Fun, fun, fun. I feel like I’m almost there with you.

  2. Saralee says:

    I was there on my second trip love the castle lots of stairs!! Stayed in Omerobagotten(sorry spelling). Loved that area. Will have to share pic this summer!!

  3. Thelma Kalms says:

    Loved seeing and reading everything- jealous, of course!

  4. Jens Schmidt says:

    Liebes Kind!!!!! How could you not go inside the castle???? I’ve been in it three times. Next time, you must go inside. It is magnificent.

    Glad you got to see it, and it looks beautiful in the snow. Shelly and I toured the castle in February 1986 when it was snowing.

    I am enjoying watching you on your travels!

    Jens

    • Andrea says:

      We just couldn’t stand there in the cold, the Middle East has changed us!! It is really beautiful, I am sure I’ll get a chance to return someday!

      Thanks! It is fun to share my travels.

Leave a Reply

