Summer in the USA

My visit to the USA is coming to a close, just three days left. I have been busy, busy, busy. I visited friends in Kansas City and Seattle and relaxed with family and friends in Eugene. I also ticked two more items off my “bucket list”.

After spending just under a week in Eugene recovering from my Dubai to Eugene, 27 hours of travel, trip and seeing friends and family, I met up with some of my former co-workers for an evening potluck. It was so wonderful to catch up with everyone, in person.

The following day, I headed to Kansas City to visit my best friend. On my first day in KC we spent some time playing with her son, eating s’mores made with Reese’s PB cups and Camel Milk Chocolate with the neighborhood kids and relaxing. On the second day, we went shopping and then to a Royals baseball game, one of my bucket list items. The Royals played the Red Sox, who I was also excited to see play. It was a great game, lots of action in the last half and in the end, the home team won! On the third day we braved the “cold” (it was in the low 80s) and went for swim in the backyard pool. We had a delicious dinner at Oklahoma Joe’s BBQ (I had brisket for the first time–wonderful!) followed by dessert at Sheridan’s Frozen Custard. It was a great trip, as always!

Royals vs Red Sox

Royals vs Red Sox

Dessert!

Dessert!

My Mom was able to take a week’s worth of vacation, so we had the whole week, after my return from Kansas City, to hang out. At the end of the week, we (with my step-dad) drove to Seattle. We visited some of the “touristy spots” in Seattle, included another bucket list item: going up to the top of the Space Needle. But, the main reason for our trip was to attend a birthday party for my wonderful friend, Elise. Part of the party included a painting session at Canvas! paint & sip studio where we were instructed on how to paint our own version of Van Gogh’s Starry Night.

My Seattle Starry Night painting.

My Seattle Starry Night painting.

The Original Starbucks

The Original Starbucks

Pike Street Market

Pike Street Market

Chihuly Museum and the Space Needle

Chihuly Museum and the Space Needle

Amazing glass art in Chihuly Museum

Amazing glass art in Chihuly Museum

Headed to the top!

Headed to the top!

With Mom at the top!

With Mom at the top!

Now that I’m wrapping up my time in the US, I’m starting to plan my next trip, Amsterdam. I’ll be there next week, a long layover from Oregon to the UAE.

About Andrea

I am teacher and traveler blogging my experiences living as an expat from the USA. From 2007-2012 I lived and worked in Oregon, USA. From 2012 (when I started blogging) to 2014, I lived and worked in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. In August 2014 I begin living and working in Santa Ana, Costa Rica.
This entry was posted in Bucket List, Expat Life, Oregon, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

