Wine, Cupcakes and Books

Then end of the school year is just a week away. In fact, while America is getting ready to celebrate Independence Day I will be celebrating my own special day of independence: summer vacation! But, before I get too excited I should fill you in on what I’ve been up to.

Aside from seeing many, many movies over the past month I have been doing a lot of reading and socializing. In May I went with a friend to Dubai to attend the “Meet Up” Event of the Dubai Wine Club. Then inspired by that meeting I decided to form a book club here in Al Ain, we had our first meeting last night. And last weekend, I attended another very unique wine tasting.

The Dubai Wine Club meets once a month at different hotels throughout the city. Guests sit at tables of 10 people and are provided six bottles of wine (with labels covered). Each wine is poured into its own glass (each member is given six glasses) and then sampled and discussed at your leisure. Some small bites are brought around, members chat and enjoy themselves. It was a pretty fun way to do a wine tasting. Toward the end of the event there is an informal vote (raise your hands) to determine the favorite wines of the night, then the bottles are uncovered and tasting notes are brought around.

This was a good night and it inspired me to find something similar here in Al Ain. But alas, I didn’t find anything quite what I was looking for, so I made my own. I started a Facebook group called Al Ain Book Club and posted it on various groups of teachers and other people in Al Ain. For our first book we read The Great Gatsby, with the idea of seeing the film when it came out. But that was a bit of a flop. Not willing to give up, I found another book and tried again. For the June selection I chose “How to Eat a Cupcake”. Then, for our meeting I found a cute cafe (Al Majlis Cafe) that sells delicious cupcakes (from Kitsch Cupcakes in Dubai) and we had our meeting there. It was a great meeting and I am looking forward to the next, which will be in September. Now I just need to select a book!

photo-13

Sticky date gluten free cupcake and lemonade for me.

And finally, the Golf Club wine tasting last week. What an experience. The advertisement said 80 wines from all the regions of Italy. I just couldn’t miss this! But, alas, I almost did. The event started at 6pm and my friend and I arrived around 7pm. By the time we got there, nearly half of the wines were gone! When they said 80 wines, they meant 80 bottles. The bottles were arranged on tables based on the region from which they originate (about 6-8 wines per table). Guests were given a glass and free reign to sample the 80 wines. I am sure you can imagine how this turned out. These were not your typical OLCC wine tasting pours, some of the glasses were filled to the brim. It was a fun and interesting way to sample a large variety of wine, but next time I will arrive on time.

And now in the upcoming week I will be organizing myself for my summer vacations (can’t wait to blog about these!) and wrapping up the school year. So, if you don’t hear from me for a while, just know that I’m off an another adventure and I will report back as soon as I can. Happy Summer!!!

About Andrea

I am teacher and traveler blogging my experiences living as an expat from the USA. From 2007-2012 I lived and worked in Oregon, USA. From 2012 (when I started blogging) to 2014, I lived and worked in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. In August 2014 I begin living and working in Santa Ana, Costa Rica.
This entry was posted in Al Ain, Dubai, Expat Life, Gluten Free, Wine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wine, Cupcakes and Books

  1. Mom says:

    Thanks for sharing. Interesting.

  2. Saralee says:

    Can hardly wait for the ne👏t installment what an adventure!

Leave a Reply

