It is getting hot and I can’t sleep!

Summer has officially arrived in the UAE. It has been over 100 degrees every day for at least two weeks now, and that temperature lasts well past sundown. I have been doing some “beat the heat” activities. A few weekends ago I visited a new water park in Abu Dhabi.

Yas Waterworld has a special night for ladies only on Thursdays. I haven’t been to any “ladies nights” here and found the experience interesting. It was wonderful to not have to deal with teenage boys pushing through the line or lurking men. It was quite freeing actually, and I had a good time. They have some pretty creative slides there, and one that I am not brave enough to try (the floor drops out from under you and shoots you up vertically). It was a fun night. I followed that evening up with a catamaran ride in the Gulf just off the coast of Abu Dhabi the following night. Another relaxing way to beat the heat. Unfortunately, the water in the Gulf is now about 85 degrees, so not as refreshing as one would like!

With the rise in temps comes the added need for air conditioning. For the past week or so the A/C in my bedroom as been making a lot of strange noises. Sometimes it doesn’t even get cool. In fact, I haven’t slept through the night in 5 days, the dang thing keeps waking me up. Last night, I called maintenance and they came to look at it. The leader of the maintenance team told me, very sternly and quite rudely, that I had to keep the A/C at 21-22C. I told him that was way too cold for me and that I keep the others at 24-25C and none of them have any problems. But he would have nothing of it. He simply kept saying 21-22 over and over again. They cleaned the filters and then left. Of course the noises that have been keeping me up were not happening when the maintenance team was there. They said there was nothing wrong, except I just had it at the wrong temperature. UGH! That was a frustrating experience. I’ve got the bed in the spare room ready in case I have to leave my bed…and that statement just proves that even with my bad A/C I’m still better off than many, many people in the world.

In order to better explain my life here, since it probably appears that I don’t have to do any “normal” things, I wanted to tell you about this A/C issue. And along that vein, another short story.

Today, while cooking lamb kofta and sweet potato fries, the power went out. 111 degrees outside and no A/C and food all over the kitchen. After nearly two hours without power I went to the Rugby Club where I could work out and have dinner. The power finally came back on just before 8pm, nearly four hours after it had gone off. I finally got all my food cooked and thought I should share these little pieces of life with you.

 

About Andrea

I am teacher and traveler blogging my experiences living as an expat from the USA. From 2007-2012 I lived and worked in Oregon, USA. From 2012 (when I started blogging) to 2014, I lived and worked in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. In August 2014 I begin living and working in Santa Ana, Costa Rica.
This entry was posted in Al Ain, Expat Life, UAE and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It is getting hot and I can’t sleep!

  1. SARALEE B CROFT says:

    Andrea amazing the experiences you have had Thanks so much for Shari g

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Mom says:

    I cannot even imagine 111. Good thinking to go to rugby club.

Leave a Reply

