Surfing in the desert

As you may already know, the UAE has a goal of breaking all the records they can. The world’s tallest building? Check. The world’s longest air-conditioned sky bridge? Check. The world’s most expensive cell phone? Check. So, it should come as no surprise that the UAE is also home to the Middle East’s “first whitewater rafting, kayaking and surfing facility.” This is known as Wadi Adventure and it is a pretty cool place.

I spend a lot of time at Wadi Adventure as part of my fitness regime, they have two large lakes that we swim in (training and competition). Back in October when I did my first competition here (swimming and running) my teammate and I came in 2nd. As part of our prize we got a free group surf or kayak lesson. It is now May and I finally decided to use it.

My lesson was booked for today at 10am. After swimming and running for an hour (2K each), I headed over to my surfing lesson. In my group lesson were two young boys (maybe nine or ten years old) who had already taken a lesson or two and me. We started off just riding some waves (laying on the board), then while the boys kept practicing I got out of the water to learn how to stand up.

After about five minutes of practicing on land we headed back to the water where I practiced some more. Then when I didn’t feel ready at all (would I ever?), I started trying to catch a wave and stand up. I actually stood up on my very first try! But then, I crashed and burned a few times. I got a few really good rides in and a couple pretty good crashes. But, I really did surf after only about thirty minutes of lessons, so that is pretty good I think!

The father of the two boys was taking photographs and took a few of me. Enjoy!

Looking to catch a wave!

Looking to catch a wave!

Riding the wave!

Riding the wave!

And crashing!

And crashing!

About Andrea

I am teacher and traveler blogging my experiences living as an expat from the USA. From 2007-2012 I lived and worked in Oregon, USA. From 2012 (when I started blogging) to 2014, I lived and worked in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. In August 2014 I begin living and working in Santa Ana, Costa Rica.
This entry was posted in Al Ain, Bucket List, Expat Life, UAE and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Surfing in the desert

  1. anita says:

    Fun!!!

  2. Valerie says:

    Great job!!! I took 2 days of lessons and could barely stand up for 10 seconds!! I’m impressed!

  3. Mom says:

    Wow! Good for you. You look like a pro.

  4. Tina says:

    Did they teach you perfect form in that lesson?! It looks like you have it. 🙂

  5. Andrea says:

    Thanks Ladies! You must know that surfing in a pool, where the waves come at regular intervals, is much easier than in the ocean (I think). But I appreciate all the compliments. Going to give it a try again this Saturday.

Leave a Reply

