The End.

Sorry for the delay, it has been a busy week here! Let’s pick up where I left off…

The end of spring vacation was fast approaching us as we boarded our flight from Amman back to Dubai, and we had a bit of journey ahead of us. As soon as we collected my car at the airport we were on our way to Abu Dhabi. We arrived very early the following morning and crashed in our hotel. Later that morning, we enjoyed a nice breakfast at Starbucks in Al Wahda Mall, then rushed to Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque.

My Mom and I walking through the mosque courtyard.

My Mom and I walking through the mosque courtyard.

Inside the mosque.

Inside the mosque.

After our tour of the mosque we checked out some of the other sites in Abu Dhabi and lunched in the Central Market. We attempted to visit the Heritage Village, but by the time we got there it was closed. Instead, we walked along the corniche and witnessed “dragging the gut” (as my Mom would say) Abu Dhabi style. Fancy cars and some not so fancy, cruising up and down the very congested street and jet skis in the water all around, doing the same thing. In fact, I saw three different Ferrari jet skis, but I don’t recall seeing any Ferrari cars.

After the sunset cruise on the corniche, we headed to Emirates Palace hotel. After my mouth-watering description of my delicious dessert last month, my Mom was anxious to try it herself. So, we had a little late afternoon dessert before heading back to Al Ain.

Checking out Abu Dhabi Skyline from Emirates Palace.

Checking out the Abu Dhabi Skyline from Emirates Palace.

Emirates Palace at night.

Emirates Palace at night.

Dessert, before...

Dessert, before…

and after.

and after.

The remainder of the trip included a bit of sightseeing in Al Ain, including the famous camel market and one last evening in Dubai at the Irish Village. Having my parents here was wonderful. It was great to show them where I live and also to share with them my love of Jordan. Hopefully, I will be able to host a few more people before I leave here.

About Andrea

I am teacher and traveler blogging my experiences living as an expat from the USA. From 2007-2012 I lived and worked in Oregon, USA. From 2012 (when I started blogging) to 2014, I lived and worked in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. In August 2014 I begin living and working in Santa Ana, Costa Rica.
This entry was posted in Abu Dhabi, Expat Life, UAE and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The End.

  1. Mom says:

    I need some chocolate!!

Leave a Reply

