Arabic, Tennis & a Wedding

I am sorry I haven’t written for a while. I have been busy, but don’t worry I’m back now and have a lot to write about. I’ve spent the last two weekends in Dubai attending the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Tournament, hanging out in four and five star hotels, studying for my Arabic Level 1 final exam and I even got to attend a Palestinian Wedding. It has been an amazing two weeks. And I even passed my Arabic class!

The Dubai Duty Free Tennis tournament is a two week long ATP and WTA tour event. They boast entry lists of most of the top ten men and women. It is so popular that the men’s tournament sold out in about 45 minutes. I saw some of my favorite players (except Rafael Nadal–so sad!) and became a fan of some new players. The women played during the first week and I took way too many pictures!

IMG_3027

Sam Stosur

IMG_3064

Caroline Wozniacki

IMG_3065

Caroline meets Diego Maradona (one of her idols–I had no idea who he was)

IMG_3092

Petra Kvitova

IMG_3122

Mattek-Sands & Mirza

IMG_3136

Sara Errani

Did you know they have air-conditioned bus stops in Dubai? If I ever need one in the summer I’ll be glad they exist!

IMG_3099And the women’s trophy, won by Petra Kvitova (singles) and Mattek-Sands/Mirza (doubles):

IMG_3170The second week was the men, I saw some good tennis, but didn’t take as many photos as I did with the women.

IMG_3226

Novak–went on to win the tournament

I also saw Juan Martin del Potro, but didn’t get any good shots of him. I did get to see my second favorite player–and my Mom’s favorite–so I took a few extra shots.

Roger Federer. I love the pink!

IMG_3253 IMG_3272 IMG_3258 IMG_3275

In between tennis (when not at work) I spent some quality time in my Dubai hotels. Here are some of the sights from this weekend.

IMG_3315

Sweet Mercedes parked behind the hotel.

IMG_3317

This is THE life.

IMG_3318

View from my lounge chair at the pool.

IMG_3319

This is my kind of restaurant!

While in Dubai this weekend I also attended the wedding of a friend’s daughter. I will write about that in my next post. It was a wonderful experience!

 

About Andrea

I am teacher and traveler blogging my experiences living as an expat from the USA. From 2007-2012 I lived and worked in Oregon, USA. From 2012 (when I started blogging) to 2014, I lived and worked in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. In August 2014 I begin living and working in Santa Ana, Costa Rica.
This entry was posted in Expat Life, Friends, UAE and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Arabic, Tennis & a Wedding

  1. Mom says:

    Fabulous!

  2. Laura Bruni says:

    So cool Andrea!!!
    Not exactly like out iw tennis trip!

Leave a Reply

