Venice!

My trip to Venice was so amazing. It was busy and relaxing and I had some really memorable experiences. It will be hard to blog about all the things I have experienced in the past few days, so I will just try and get to the highlights. This is part one.

On Sunday (December 16) I took the train from Trieste to Venice. It was  a nice two hour train ride. After leaving the train I hopped on the vaporetto and headed to Venice. My hotel provided excellent directions and I made it there easily. On a recommendation from a friend I stayed at Hotel Mercurio. It was the perfect place for me. Just around the corner from the Fenice Theater and minutes from St. Mark’s square. I had a nice small, comfortable room with breakfast included.

Single room at Hotel Mercurio.

Single room at Hotel Mercurio.

After checking into the hotel and getting my bearings, I went out exploring. Many people had told me to “just get lost”, so I did. I wandered around the streets in the San Marco and Rialto neighborhoods. Taking pictures and taking in the sites, sounds and the cold! I was getting very cold (it was a big change from the warm desert to the European cold) so I stopped in an osteria to get a drink to warm up. I noticed many gondoliers in this osteria so decided I had to check it out. The staff was very friendly and my glass of local white wine cost me 1 Euro. I really liked the place, and in fact went back multiple times.

Trying to be artistic...

Trying to be artistic…

Came across the troops bringing down the flags in St. Mark's Square.

Came across the troops bringing down the flags in St. Mark’s Square.

Heading out of St. Mark's.

Heading out of St. Mark’s.

My little bar, Osteria da Baco.

My little bar, Osteria da Baco.

I went back out to explore after getting warmed up and then decided it was time for some dinner. I headed back toward my hotel looking for something to eat. I have been reading the book The City of Falling Angels by John Berendt and I wanted to check out some of the established eateries he talks about in the book. One of these places is Antico Martini and upon arriving I saw that they offer gluten free noodles! I was sold. After a delicious dinner at Antico Martini I headed back to my hotel to get ready for the following day.

On Monday morning, I met up with a semi-private tour that I’d pre-booked. We toured the Palazzo Ducale and the neighborhood known as the Jewish ghetto. After the tour I stopped in a cafe for some delicious hot chocolate to get warm. After I was warm, I headed back toward St. Mark’s square to try and find a good lunch place. I ended up back at Osteria da Baco and had a delicious panini.

View from inside the Bridge of Sighs.

View from inside the Bridge of Sighs.

Nice views on the tour.

Nice views on the tour.

Menorah in the Jewish ghetto.

Menorah in the Jewish ghetto.

I then headed to the Peggy Guggenheim Museum and the Accademia bridge area. The museum was really interesting. I saw some nice art and put a wish on the wish tree (which was given in Peggy’s honor by Yoko Ono).

On the Accademia bridge.

On the Accademia bridge.

IMG_1934

My wish on the “Wish Tree” at the museum.

After the museum I wandered around St. Mark’s listening to Rick Steve’s podcast and learning about the square. I stopped at Harry’s Bar, the home of the Bellini, and had the signature drink. I checked out some shops and then headed off to find some dinner. Then to bed. Because the next morning I had my gondola rowing lesson and I needed my beauty rest!

The "real" Bellini.

The “real” Bellini.

 

 

About Andrea

I am teacher and traveler blogging my experiences living as an expat from the USA. From 2007-2012 I lived and worked in Oregon, USA. From 2012 (when I started blogging) to 2014, I lived and worked in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. In August 2014 I begin living and working in Santa Ana, Costa Rica.
This entry was posted in Bucket List, Expat Life, Food, Gluten Free, Travel, Wine and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Venice!

  1. Mom says:

    That was a fun adventure with you. Can’t wait for part 2.

  2. Thelma Kalms says:

    Fabulous!! Can’t wait to hear more!

Leave a Reply

