Cooking with gas, literally

Last Saturday my friend and I set out to get gas for our cookers (cooker = stove/oven). We were told by a few people that we could just go to any gas station and get a gas tank. (An aside: gas is controlled by the government. In the emirate of Abu Dhabi we have Abu Dhabi National Oil Company (ADNOC). The automobile gasoline is quite inexpensive, about $1.80 per gallon! The cooker tanks are natural gas, I think about $10 to fill.) Anyway, we headed to our nearby ADNOC station. They informed us that we had to go to a different station to get our cooker tanks. Off we went to the next ADNOC, and another strike out. But at this location, they said we could find the tanks at a nearby station, and gave me directions. At ADNOC #3, we struck out again! But this time we were promised that they knew the correct location.

Finally at ADNOC #4 we found gas tanks! The employees were very helpful, because honestly we had no idea what we were doing, and we needed help. We were able to get the tanks and the regulator at the station but not the hose. The employees at the station said we could get the hose at any store. So, off we went to get some groceries and hopefully the hose. Unfortunately, the hose alluded us.

On Monday I contacted a “jack of all trades” that I’ve met through the ex-pat teacher circle  and he came and set up my cooker for me. Which, honestly was much easier than trying to do it myself! So now I can cook on my stove! I’ve been lucky to find all of my gluten-free staple items and have already made two of my favorite meals.

I can now cook!

About Andrea

I am teacher and traveler blogging my experiences living as an expat from the USA. From 2007-2012 I lived and worked in Oregon, USA. From 2012 (when I started blogging) to 2014, I lived and worked in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. In August 2014 I begin living and working in Santa Ana, Costa Rica.
This entry was posted in Al Ain, Expat Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cooking with gas, literally

  1. Lara says:

    Wow, that is strange – are all the apartments/units set up like this? – I dont want to alarm you but when i saw this i instantly thought it can not be safe – I asked my husband who works in OH&S for oil & gas this is what he said: “Bugger – Well that is how you hook up a BBQ but a BBQ is outside and if there is a leak it dissipates. I would not be happy with that in my house. Tell here to sleep with the window open for some air and I hope she is not a smoker!! “

    • Lara says:

      Also one more thing, I am sure it is ok but Eddy mentioned the connection does not look so good in the photo. He said to put some dishwashing liquid in a spraybottle with water and spray on the connectors. If it bubbles you know there is a leak and you should do this every time you get it changed just to be on the safe side. Always best to be cautious – especially when gas is involved. Now sorry that is enough of me trying to scare you!

      • Andrea says:

        Thanks for your thoughts and concern Lara. I can’t promise that this is a safe set-up, but it is not an unusual one. We had the same thing when I lived in Spain. The building I am in is brand new, yet the set up is the same in all 60+ units. I checked the connections and they seem very secure. Will try the soap method as soon as I can get a spray bottle. Thanks for the advice! 🙂

  2. We have the same set-up (as does everyone else here on the island), though Lara has a good point. Our gas tanks are always outside the house. The tubing goes through a small hole usually made in the wall and connects the tank outside. I’d ask around about precautions others are taking, or maybe there actually is a specific place outside where you can connect it.

  3. Pam And Ken says:

    You are learning a lot! Eventually you can get a gas BBQ.

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

