“I love you, Miss!”

When I walked into my first class yesterday, this was the first thing I heard from one of my new students. “I love you, Miss!” What a great way to start off class!! I hope they continue to say this through the rest of the year!

My students have been very welcoming and well-behaved these first two days. I am teaching 11th grade girls (classes/schools are segregated by gender after kindergarten). I have the students in a 80 minute or 90 minute block. The block times change depending on the day.

The girls are very chatty, but they have been sweet and they do participate and help each other understand what is going on. In the US my students were in leveled classes depending on their English skills. In this new school, the students are leveled based on their general academic skills. So, I will need to do a lot of grouping in the classes in order to allow students to work at the correct level for each of them. It will be a bit of a challenge to get them leveled correctly, but luckily I have a lot of time with them to do it.

Here is my new school, hope to get some interior pictures soon.

About Andrea

I am teacher and traveler blogging my experiences living as an expat from the USA. From 2007-2012 I lived and worked in Oregon, USA. From 2012 (when I started blogging) to 2014, I lived and worked in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. In August 2014 I begin living and working in Santa Ana, Costa Rica.
This entry was posted in Al Ain, Expat Life, Work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “I love you, Miss!”

  1. Pam And Ken says:

    That is so sweet!

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

