Emirates Palace, Round 2

Well, these have been a busy past two days. On Tuesday we were taken to our new apartments in Al Ain. It took most of the day, but it was nice to finally see where I’ll be living for the next two years. I didn’t really take many pictures of the inside of the apartment, mostly because I don’t like how those pictures look. Just an empty room, so boring. I will post pictures of the apartment when I actually have stuff in it. I can tell you though, that it is quite nice. It appears to be a newly built, 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment with a combo living room/dining room and a galley style kitchen. Which means I’ll have plenty of room for visitors!

My new home.

Wednesday morning we had our medical exams. Yes, you read that right. Medical Exam. This exam is required of all people applying for a resident visa. It was quite basic, chest x-ray, blood draw and things like that. They also took our picture and fingerprints for our UAE ID cards. After the medical exam, we returned to our hotel and made a plan for the day. Ali (my new friend from England) and I realized we had just enough time to catch a taxi and go to the Grand Mosque. Ali’s been dying to go there and I’m pretty sure it is a place I will never get tired of visiting. So we took off in a taxi to the mosque. But the mosque was CLOSED, Ali was so disappointed. Luckily we were still in the taxi, so we asked to go to the Emirates Palace Hotel instead.

The Emirates Palace Hotel.

We had such an amazing time exploring this massive hotel. When I went last week, for my first visit, I didn’t realize how large the place actually was. But this time around we really got to see some pretty cool things.

Just relaxing in the palace.

Hallway where guest rooms are located.

It is the little details that make this hotel so amazing!

We even made it out to the Palace’s pool and beach, the pool is amazing. It has a nice water slide, a lazy river and tons of lounge chairs.

The pool.

It is also connected to the beach, which we went to check out as well. On the beach we found a nice surprise.

 

 

 

 

 

Two camels. They were all saddled up, but there was not a person in sight. Not being very comfortable around animals, I let Ali get up to them first and once I saw it seemed pretty safe, I ventured in for a little pet. They were very, very sandy!

Came upon these two guys, just relaxing in the 100 degree shade!

 

 

 

 

 

 

So excited to see camels!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

I had to muster up the courage for a little pet!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You can tell where Ikea is in any language.

We also went to IKEA Abu Dhabi yesterday. I have an allowance to furnish my apartment, so I really wanted to go out and see what things cost. It is going to add up quickly, so I’m going to have to be really smart about what I buy now (immediate items, like a fridge and a bed) and what I can buy later when I decide if I really need them (extras like a TV). It is really overwhelming. In fact, it was so overwhelming that we had to stop for ice cream at Baskin Robbins before we went back to our hotel!

Sorry for the weird spaces and different size pictures, I was having some photo uploading problems today!

About Andrea

I am teacher and traveler blogging my experiences living as an expat from the USA. From 2007-2012 I lived and worked in Oregon, USA. From 2012 (when I started blogging) to 2014, I lived and worked in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. In August 2014 I begin living and working in Santa Ana, Costa Rica.
This entry was posted in Abu Dhabi, Al Ain, Expat Life, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Emirates Palace, Round 2

  1. Kari Duffy says:

    Wow! What an adventure. I love seeing your pictures and hearing your impressions. I can’t believe you’re already there! Keep posting 🙂

  2. Pam says:

    Camels on the beach! How fun.

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. Pingback: 7 Star Weekend | From ojalá to insha'Allah

Leave a Reply

