Completing the Bucket List

I love Oregon. It has so much to offer. Beautiful coastline, awesome mountains, wonderful lakes and rivers and tons of covered bridges. Covered bridges are so fun and old fashioned, I just love them.

Hannah Covered Bridge

This week, as I await departure information, I have moved back in with my parents. Lucky for me, my Mom has this week off from work and she has been helping me enjoy some of my favorite things.

This past Sunday, after a morning of much needed relaxing, we headed north to Scio, Oregon to do a 40-mile covered bridge bike tour. The roads were pretty clear of traffic, with tons of nice, smooth rolling hills. We saw four different covered bridges and some really beautiful countryside.

My bike resting inside the Hannah Covered Bridge.

Gilkey Covered Bridge

Then on Monday, Mom and I headed to Florence, Oregon. The beach is a place of serenity for me. There is just nothing like the sound of the ocean crashing onto the beach. We had a nice lunch downtown, then headed to the beach. We found a fort that protected us from the wind and had a great time just relaxing.

Heceta Beach relaxation.

Tuesday we went on another one of my favorite bike rides. This time, along the Row River trail in Cottage Grove. This ride included scenic views of Dorena Lake, a waterfall (at Wildwood falls) and two covered bridges.

I think I’ve now completed my Oregon Bucket List, so anything else that happens between now and when I leave will be icing on the cake. And as for my departure date, it is still in the air. However, I have been receiving communication from Abu Dhabi, so I anticipate knowing something soon(-ish).

About Andrea

I am teacher and traveler blogging my experiences living as an expat from the USA. From 2007-2012 I lived and worked in Oregon, USA. From 2012 (when I started blogging) to 2014, I lived and worked in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. In August 2014 I begin living and working in Santa Ana, Costa Rica.
This entry was posted in OBL, Oregon and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

