24-hour Getaway

I’ve traveled to quite a few places, yet I still haven’t found a place quite as amazing as Oregon. Oregon is unique because it has so much natural beauty crammed into a pretty small place. If you like being in the “great outdoors” then Oregon is a great place. In two hours or less you can get to the beach, the mountains, waterfalls, rivers and lakes galore. And yet, even with the proximity and my thirty years of living here, there are so many things I haven’t seen or done. I posted a while back about having an Oregon Bucket List and things I’d like to do before leaving Oregon, yesterday I was able to cross Mt. Hood off my list.

Mt. Hood. Probably Oregon’s most famous mountain. It provides majestic views from all over the northern part of the state and 365-days of fun. And I’ve never really been there! Sure, I can see it all the time and yep, I’ve been pretty close to it, but I’ve never been up on the mountain. Until yesterday!

With five of the best co-workers and friends a girl could ask for, I headed to Government Camp, Oregon for a 24-hour getaway. It was such a fun time! We stayed at an amazing vacation home right in town and enjoyed the outdoors, good food and each other’s company.

We hiked to Lower Twin Lakes and sat along the water’s pristine edge talking and pretending the wind wasn’t making us cold.

We dined at Oregon’s famous Timberline Lodge, which is celebrating its 75 anniversary this year. 

We talked, played games and got a chance to really unwind after a hectic school year. I finished this great little getaway with some delicious huckleberry pancakes. I might be moving overseas, but my heart will always be in Oregon.

About Andrea

I am teacher and traveler blogging my experiences living as an expat from the USA. From 2007-2012 I lived and worked in Oregon, USA. From 2012 (when I started blogging) to 2014, I lived and worked in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. In August 2014 I begin living and working in Santa Ana, Costa Rica.
This entry was posted in Friends, OBL, Oregon, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 24-hour Getaway

  1. Mom says:

    What a fun memory

Leave a Reply

