Only a few tears this time

ImageLast night was graduation at my school. The seniors who have challenged, inspired and surprised us these past four or five years walked across that stage and into their future. A few of them will be heading to college; but for many, graduation is very scary. Graduation signifies an end to a life they have known and the beginning of the unknown. I couldn’t help but think I am in a similar position. I have one week of teaching left at the only teaching job I’ve ever known. And a future that is full of hope and fear.

There have been a few tears this week, and I predict there will be a few more in the final week of my time at the Academy of International Studies. On Wednesday I was called into the principal’s office for an “exit interview.” It was a very awkward conversation, but my principal was doing his best to say his professional goodbye. Or at least that is what I thought. Upon leaving that meeting another teacher swooped in telling me she had a paper in her classroom I needed to read. She said a student had written some really nice stuff about me and that I was going to be missed. So I followed her and another teacher (who is going on leave next year) to her classroom. Upon entering the room I was greeted by shouts of “SURPRISE!” from about 20 students. I was surprised, I screamed and fell back against the wall. Of course they loved it! I am so impressed by them, it is not easy to keep a secret in a school this small and especially since many staff were involved in making sure I would be there for the surprise. They had cake and ice cream and even thank you cards for us (both teachers who are leaving were being celebrated). It was a nice and very thoughtful party. I may have teared up a bit when reading the card! This is a big public thank you to all who made that surprise party happen, you all will be missed and I really loved the party!

The end of something always offers a look at the future and the possibilities. As I prepare to graduate from my first career job, I look forward to what the future brings. But for now, I’m going to watch Rafa kick some arse at the French Open!

About Andrea

I am teacher and traveler blogging my experiences living as an expat from the USA. From 2007-2012 I lived and worked in Oregon, USA. From 2012 (when I started blogging) to 2014, I lived and worked in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. In August 2014 I begin living and working in Santa Ana, Costa Rica.
This entry was posted in Oregon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Only a few tears this time

  1. theRands says:

    Aww, this is so very sweet! – Jenia.

Leave a Reply

