The First Box

Last weekend I was pretty busy mentally preparing to pack up all my stuff. Three or four different times I had mini-panic attacks. What do I pack? What do I throw away? Ugh! My goal is to only have two checked bags and two carry-ons, so I’ve made some visits to Goodwill.

I did actually pack my first box last Saturday, but I haven’t quite gotten myself to seal it yet. Something about sealing the box makes it seem too real. I also spent some time on Saturday looking for a storage unit. I was shocked that the price per month was so different at the various places I checked out. Anywhere from $60 to $110/month, all the same size. Luckily, I think I found the perfect place; hopefully they will have an opening in July!

Last week my recruiter told us that ADEC is planning to bring all new teachers to Abu Dhabi August 8-11. That goal means they hope to bring over 600 teachers into the emirate in a period of four days. Should be interesting.

About Andrea

I am teacher and traveler blogging my experiences living as an expat from the USA. From 2007-2012 I lived and worked in Oregon, USA. From 2012 (when I started blogging) to 2014, I lived and worked in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. In August 2014 I begin living and working in Santa Ana, Costa Rica.
This entry was posted in Abu Dhabi. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The First Box

  1. theRands says:

    You are definitely ahead of us! We sort of weeded out some books and donated them to the library, but haven’t even started packing yet. Maybe we should.

  2. Rebecca says:

    You’re ahead of us as well as far as timelines go. Well done. You can likely find comfort in knowing that so many others are making the same journey with you. Then you’ll discover how amazingly adaptable you are and will wonder why you brought 80% of the stuff you decided on in the first place. 🙂

  3. My girlfriend is an ADEC teacher and when she first came out here last August she was very confused. She and others were put up in a 5 star hotel for the first 3 weeks with no communication from ADEC…then they just turned up one day and just read a list out of which teacher is going what school… So brace yourself for a “confusing” first few weeks!!! (Fun though!)

    • I think I’m so prepared for “confusing” that I will probably think everything is running smoothly! At least I hope so! Also, I almost ran over two birds today…it appears when the humidity is up in Oregon the birds are suicidal as well!

Leave a Reply

