More Documents…

Applying to work overseas really is a ton of work. You have to be dedicated to the cause! Here is a little summary of what I’ve done in order to secure this position in Abu Dhabi. First, I applied via an on-line application with the American International Development Council, Inc (AIDC).  After this I had my phone interview, then I started collecting my documents for my in-person-interview (IPI). What did I have to collect? I needed two letters of recommendation and one proof of employment; approximately six passport sized photographs; a security clearance form for UAE–which includes a declaration of religion!!; an Oregon State Police background check; a health questionnaire and various copies of my passport, degree and teaching licenses. All of these needed to be collected in hard copy and also uploaded into a Dropbox file so that AIDC could access them. If you’ve never used Dropbox, it is a pretty easy way to store files on-line (if you have a need for that).

At my IPI (last month) I handed over some of these copies and I’ve been holding on to the rest since. Today I was able to send them off for their official processing. The items listed above, my signed letter of offer from the Abu Dhabi Education Council (ADEC–my new employer) and my authenticated documents are all currently awaiting pickup at the FedEx office.

Additionally, since I got my documents into Dropbox in a timely fashion, I was able to complete my travel documents today as well. So with my travel documents complete and my documents on their way to AIDC (and eventually ADEC) I am done with my portion of this application (I hope!). My understanding is now I wait for my visa to be processed then shortly after that I’ll receive my travel arrangements. Which could arrive anytime between next month and August. So the waiting begins…

About Andrea

I am teacher and traveler blogging my experiences living as an expat from the USA. From 2007-2012 I lived and worked in Oregon, USA. From 2012 (when I started blogging) to 2014, I lived and worked in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. In August 2014 I begin living and working in Santa Ana, Costa Rica.
This entry was posted in Abu Dhabi, UAE and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to More Documents…

  1. Thelma Kalms says:

    Well Done Andrea! I am so excited to follow this adventure with you!

  2. Pingback: 100. | From ojalá to insha'Allah

Leave a Reply

