Paperwork & New Friends

Putting my passport in the mail and shipping it off is very uncomfortable for me. I love that some countries don’t require visas or make them easy to get. Unfortunately, some countries are not quite as flexible; for example, China. I just picked up my passport at UPS fresh from the Chinese Consulate, tourist visa intact. Phew! This was just one of the many items of paperwork I had to complete this month. Oh yes, that is right, I’m also going to China this summer.

Beijing to be exact, in June, with six students from my high school. It will be an exciting trip and a wonderful way to end my five years teaching here. But getting the visa for myself and six students is a little bit of work! China requires the visa application and passport to be hand delivered…so I had to hire someone to do that part of the work for me. Luckily it was actually very simple. Here’s hoping it will be that easy for my students!

There is a bunch of paperwork in relation to my application in Abu Dhabi as well. Currently I have my Oregon Secretary of State Authenticated teaching license and diploma with a company in Washington DC. The company, ProEx, will take my docs to the US Department of State, to have them authenticated; then to the UAE Emabassy for the same purpose. All this has to be done in person as well, which is why I hired ProEx, though I’d love to be in DC right now! When ProEx is done they will send everything back to me (fingers crossed).

The best part? All this paperwork led to me making new friends! While trying to figure out all the document authentication requirements, I realized that one of the other teachers hired through my recruiter was also from Oregon. In fact they live just a mere 15 minutes from me! Last night we enjoyed an amazing dinner (with GF brownies for dessert!) and great conversation. I am so luckily to have met them prior to heading to Abu Dhabi. I may not get to see them much before we leave, and we may be posted hours away from each other in AD, but at least I know them…just in case.

About Andrea

I am teacher and traveler blogging my experiences living as an expat from the USA. From 2007-2012 I lived and worked in Oregon, USA. From 2012 (when I started blogging) to 2014, I lived and worked in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. In August 2014 I begin living and working in Santa Ana, Costa Rica.
This entry was posted in Abu Dhabi, Friends, Travel, UAE and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Paperwork & New Friends

  1. Pingback: More Documents… | From ojalá to Insha'Allah

  2. Pingback: Last week in Oregon | From ojalá to insha'Allah

  3. Pingback: 100. | From ojalá to insha'Allah

Leave a Reply

